

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

April 19, 2023, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 504 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

**COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:** Dr. Joanna Lein, Kathryn Szallar, John Daniel,

Katie Nations, Dr. Katherine Curry, Ken Parker

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:** None

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: None

Call to Order: Dr. Joanna Lein called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed. Mr. Parker then entered at 1:33 p.m.

**Welcome from Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf**: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the February 15, 2023 Commission Meeting:** Mrs. Szallar made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 15, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve

Page 1 of 2

**Dr. Curry**: abstain **Ms. Szallar**: approve

**Program Updates:** Angie Bookout spoke about accreditation visits that have been performed in the last month and upcoming visits. She then informed the Commission about the progress of the Marietta OSPR. David Kurt told the Commission about Lone Wolf OSPR and then spoke about transfer audits under SB 783, closing out the 2022 audits, and selecting a new 10% of schools in the state for 2023 audits. Jennifer Gambrell spoke about the pilot mentoring program. Mrs. Gambrell then updated the Commissioners about National Board meetings and the upcoming Summit. Renee Launey-Rodolf then spoke about certification test meetings. She informed the Commission of two universities that are planning to put their Educator Preparation Programs on hiatus.

Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1): The Commission voted to go into Executive Session as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Executive Director for OEQA. The vote to go into Executive Session passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveDr. Curry:approveMs. Szallar:approve

Dr. Curry left the Executive Session at 2:38 p.m. Ms. Nations left the Executive Session at 3:48 p.m.

**Return to Open Session:** The Commission voted to return to Open Session at 4:02 p.m.

**New Business:** None.

**Announcements:** None

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m. The minutes of the April 19, 2023 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted with corrections

on May 17, 2023.

Signed:

Dr. Katherine Curry Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf,

Secretary of Education OEQA Interim Executive Director